Happy dog leaping for joy as he runs towards the new foundations

The foundations are in

Tis the festive season and nearly the end of the year, and it is time for an update on the build. It has been a while between blog posts, but during that time things have been happening onsite. Lots of things, from little site preparation things to large steel piers going in.

Some of the smaller stuff took a bit of time, like getting the first few Development Application consent conditions in place including temporary site fence, portaloo, and silt fence. The first two should in theory just involve a delivery but in my case getting the site fence in place meant quite a lot of work hand-clearing the vegetation at the front of the block, which had grown over right to the edge of the road in some places. I’ve been continuing that hand-clearing down one side-boundary, which was massively overgrown with vines that were reminiscent of the ones in the movie Maleficent (below). Once I had battled through the head-high thorns and chopped off all the sneaky tendrils that kept trapping my boots whenever I tried to move, I discovered some hardy camellias surviving underneath it all that will hopefully grow back into the hedge they were no doubt intended to be.

Hedge of thorns from Maleficent.
Hedge of thorns from Maleficent – I had to clear something similar from the side boundary of my block of land.

But that’s the boring stuff, the exciting part is that the foundations are in! That might not be all that exciting for normal people but for anyone who’s been reading this blog for a while I’m sure you can understand that some major site works finally happening, after what seems like decades of paperwork, has been a source of great joy and happiness for me. I can now wander around amongst my piers and visualise how big the house will be and how tall it will be which, due to the slope of the block, is much taller than I thought and might just result in an awesome valley view from the 1st floor deck.

The piers went in first, then they were cut down and levelled onsite.
The piers went in first, then they were cut down and levelled onsite.
Steel piers in concrete, ready for the containers
The steel piers with metal plates where the containers will sit (and be welded to). Note that this photo was taken on panoramic setting on a phone so there is no curve in the steel framework, it’s just an illusion.

I’ve had power connected onsite up near the road but it has not been run down to the build site yet – all the main connections will go in after the containers are in place as the connection trench will run down the driveway and could be crushed by the 50 tonne crane. The trenching under the house will be prior to delivery though.

While I’m happy to do the gardening and dig in a silt fence or two I won’t pretend for a second that I did the foundations myself, as I firmly believe that the structural bits are rather important and should be left to the professionals. Full credit to Aaron Becroft and his team who did the steel piers in concrete and organised all the welding and reinforcement/bracing.

Nothing is ever straightforward though and the first test hole that was dug went down just under 3m before it hit bedrock (in this case, Banks Sandstone), which was deeper than I had hoped or budgeted for. My block is mostly sandy infill and the piers have to go down deep enough to sit on solid ground, so we were bracing for a few surprises and the possibility of having to dig through to China – well actually the middle of the North Atlantic Ocean is opposite Australia on the globe so we would have hit cold water instead of China. It turned out that the test drill hole was in the deepest part of the build site and all the rest of the pier holes came back to a depth of around 1.5m -2m. I mentioned in my last blog post that I was hoping to encounter some pleasant surprises – although elusive little rascals this proves that they do exist and perhaps a little herd of pleasant surprises will move onto my block now that the nasty vines have gone.

A hole caused by overzealous residential construction
The sort of hole that could be caused by overzealous residential construction. Fortunately this did not occur in my case.

The container modifications were delayed for various reasons which I might go into in another post, or I might just forget about it all in the spirit of Christmas. There’s been a few minor hitches so far but the container company has been professional in sorting them out; I’ll put up a review of the company when the containers are all done and sitting on their piers. At this stage the containers should be ready mid-January with all glazing in place. They’ll be put together in the factory so I can see the house all mocked-up and get engineering sign-off, so I’ll be going up to inspect them which I’m really looking forward to.

Next, it’s into the fun and games of organising logistics and manoeuvring three forty foot containers down some narrow mountain streets, under power-lines, reversing them down a narrow dirt driveway and craning them over a lovely garden onto the piers. The crane driver has been up to visit again and says it’s all possible so together with the presence of a herd of pleasant surprises what could possibly go wrong?

I might think about all that next year…

7 thoughts on “The foundations are in”

  1. So happy to hear (and see) that you are finally making visible progress and I can see that you would be excited after all this time. Here’s hoping for many more pleasant surprises to add to that herd 🙂 Love F&S&I xxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Kellie (&Badger of course)
    We realise that you are probably very busy with work etc. but would love an update on how things are progressing – we hope they are still progressing as we can’t wait to come and visit 🙂
    Love F&S&I

    Like

Leave a Reply

